Long Weekend

I don’t have to work this Monday as I am a municipal employee. We get all those federal holidays, it’s a nice perk. And usually the band rehearses on Sunday, but we switched to Saturday so Jeff could attend an event this Sunday. So the weekend started off with a bang, as we held our first full-band rehearsal in a week. That’s a long time to not be playing. It was a little rough at first, but we started to get in the pocket after a few songs. Our drummer John brought our friend (and Anna and I’s former roommate) Colin. Colin is a no-bullshit type of guy. He cannot do anything but tell it straight up. You know if Colin likes a band, it is defenitely worth checking out. In other words, he has discriminating tastes. He told Anna that he thought she was the best poet he ever met! Coming from Him, that is a big compliment. Anna was delighted to relay the news, and I could relate to that validating feeling when someone you respect gives you a compliment on your talents. It means worlds more than the drunk dude who is spitting and spilling beer on you while he tells how it reminds him of his “glory days”. Or that you look like Elvis Costello. No I don’t. We just both happen to wear black rimmed glasses. I sing, he sings. That is about it.
But anyway, Saturday went well, and I enjoyed the company of friends. The highlight was having dinner together upstairs. We all really enjoyed ourselves.
Sunday was pretty laid-back, in a hurry up and clean sort of way. Anna and I both cleaned as much as possible. As soon as Bunny took her mid-day nap we both took off in opposite directions to clean more. It is tough work keeping a house clean, especially with Bunny. She is about to walk any day now. She is already walking, taking a few steps…but she will be just standing up and walking around very soon. I’m excited and terrified. Today she got up to the landing before we realized she was climbing the stairs! She is so fast, and just climbs the stairs like crazy. I can’t imagine in a few weeks when she is more mobile. I’m trying to enjoy it while I can. We went grocery shopping, and that was ok. It was nice to spend some time together outside of the house for a little while. Then tonight we had eggs, sausage, and potato patties for dinner. Everyone truly enjoyed that combination.
Then this evening I got an email from one of my greatest friends: Billy Reuben. I mean great in many ways, but it can be explained with this factual statement: In 1985 BR and I rode on the same shcool bus, which my Grandmother drove. So we’re tight, is the point. He signed up for a blogger account also, and can be found here: BillyReuben Project
This is really exhilirating to me. We live hundreds of miles apart now, and I miss the bastard. It is going to be so great to get to read his thoughts, or whatever he blogs about. I am already eagerly awaiting the next post. This is Brilliant!

Author: jayholler

A technology lover living in California with my wife and two children.

1 thought on “Long Weekend”

  1. You knooooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww… you DO look the tiniest bit like Elvis Costello in that photo. Not exactly, but enough so that you could possible be him for Halloween or play him in a b-rated movie.

    And just as not to misrepresent Colin’s actual opinion, he said on my friendster comment, “Anna is one of the best writers I’ve ever met.”

    That’s a big difference.

    Okay.

    Iloveyoujayholler

Leave a Reply

