Jay Holler's Blog

A technologist living in California


What ever happened to Weezer?

Man, I remember when Weezer first started getting airplay on MTV, and that sweater song was being sung by young folks everywhere I went. It was a great, anthemic song with simple lyrics from a band that mostly ripped off 50’s chord progressions. But this came in the midst of the flannel revolution, and they couldn’t have sounded more different than the Pearl Jams, Nirvanas and Stone Temple Pilots. It was a breath of fresh air to have four nerdy guys who just liked to rock out and had a great sense of melody. That first album didn’t have a bad or mediocre song on it. Then came Pinkerton, which I listened to incessantly for about a year. The songs were great, they were exposing really personal information thereby helping to really connect the singer to the songs, the maker to the making. But from then on, each album has lost more and more of it’s luster. So now they have a new disc slated to be released this year, and I don’t even know if I care anymore. I used to LOVE this band, but their most recent releases have left me dissapointed. The first few albums had soul, but these recent records are just lacking in the “this was not made by robots” department. Maybe it’s just me, but I look back to a time when a Weezer solo wasn’t just the melody of the song played on guitar.



2 responses to “What ever happened to Weezer?”

  1. I don’t even know who weezer is. I only know that you and I ate chinese food and watched the My So Called Life boxset that we borrowed from Christian while everyone else went to their show in South Jersey and that we got to have the house to ourselves because of it.

  2. Ugh!! I can’t agree more. When the “blue album” came out it was the good word but when Pinkerton came out it was GOSPEL!!! And frankly, it still is. I remember rushing out to CDWorld in Parsippany to get the “green album” and by the time I got home to Rockaway it was over. I felt a bit cheated. At first I thought it was because of the 28 minute release but it was all those solo cop outs. As far as Maladroit went, I’ve never owned a copy.

    I think Weezer says it best about this new release…”Why bother. It’s gonna hurt me. It’s gonna kill when you desert me. This happened to me TWICE before. It won’t happen to me anymore!”

    Or maybe I’ll buy in hopes of a musical return.

    Jay, do that wifey o’yours o favor and put Pinkerton on her iPod. I was blown out of the water when Anna mentioned to me in Bloomfield that she didn’t know who Weezer was but i figured that would’ve been remedied by now!!

Leave a comment

About Me

A classically and jazz trained musician, played baritone sax, bass clarinet, flute, organ and accordion. Learned Linux and worked at Nasdaq and Twitter.

Newsletter