MasterHeadacheSoho

This weekend was pretty nice. On Saturday all I had to do was take our extra leaves and other bulk garbage to the dump in Oxford. I was home by noon, and showered and ready for the rest of the day shortly thereafter. After Bunny took her midday nap we went grocery shopping and then played around at home. It was nice to have a family day, and I really enjoyed it.
Sunday Pzoo went to Jigsaw Sound in SoHo to master our new record. Finding a parking spot took as long as it took to get there, it seemed. But we wound up getting into the building by 12:15PM, and by 1PM Nathan (our mastering engineer) was well into his work. Mastering is kind of like magic to me. The general idea behind it is that he takes the mixes from the recording studio and does a lot of fine tuning to the equalization settings, as well as processing the sound through various equipment to bring out the sounds that we recorded. He was able to clean up a lot of the bass heavy tracks we had, and in general things were sounding really fucking good. The downside to Sunday was that I had a migraine all day long. It started when I got to Scott’s house late, and it got worse by the time we got into the Mastering studio. Scott and I took a walk for a while, and I was unable to find any place that would sell things like Advil or Tylenol. We did grab a bite to eat, but that didn’t help at all. I suffered throughout the day, and finally at 7PM Scott and I left so I could get home in time to give Bunny her bath. Well, Bunny was in a terrible mood by 8:45PM and I still wasn’t home, so Anna gave her a bath instead. That kind of worked out because by the time I got home I could barely keep my eyes open, nevermind make sure our beloved little girl didn’t drown while bathing. Anna let me go up to bed and I passed out rather quickly. I haven’t had a migraine like that in quite some time, it was really awful. I think the sole cause of it was the feeling I had all morning on the way to the studio that I was running late, which led me to get tense shoulders and neck muscles. We were scheduled for 12PM, but no one would have cared if we were an hour or two late. I don’t know why I do that to myself. This is something which is newer to me, although in general I have always liked to be early rather than late. But lately I feel like I’m always running around with no time to do the things I have to, nevermind the things I’d like to. I guess it is just a part of life as a new parent, and I’m going to have to learn how to cope with it. It just sucks, because my miserableness all day yesterday was attributable only to my mindset, no one once gave me any grief for being late. In fact, I almost never get grief even when I’m actually late for appointments. I should just be easier on myself.

Author: jayholler

A technology lover living in California with my wife and two children.

3 thoughts on “MasterHeadacheSoho”

  1. What’s interesting to me about this new character trait is that I am the exact opposite since having Bunny. I used to get really stressed out whenever I’d be running late and my heart would beat really quickly and my blood pressure would go up and I’d experience all these anxious symptoms like palm sweating and loss of breath; now it’s all smooth sailing for me. When I’m late… I just resolve that I’ve done the best that I can do (if that’s the case) and that the world won’t end because I missed an appointment or wasted a few minutes of someone else’s time. They’ll probably understand with a sincere apology. I hope my shower didn’t make you late. I thought you said 10:30 would be your leaving time.

    I felt so sorry for you last night. I love you, Jay.

  2. No, your shower did not affect my exit time. I just underestimated the time it would take me to get to Scott’s and then to get into the city. We were actually only about 15 minutes late, most of which time was lost on the way to Scott’s and because I needed to stop for gas at Jack’s. I don’t know why this change has affected me lately, but it certainly doesn’t have anything to do with you…you are always more than helpful in allowing me the time to do things like go to the mastering studio and other band related activities. And I try to do some band activities and exlude myself when I feel it isn’t really necessary. Also, my head isn’t quite right today. It’s as if everything is on a delay, as though I’m not quite getting audio and visual input at the same time. I’m sure it’s just because my head was hurting so bad yesterday, but I can’t wait to have myself back to normal. Hopefully court will not be too difficult today, as i’m not in any shape for a rough day. I’ll see you later tonight. I love you dearly. Last night I had a dream that we were about to have sex, and then i woke up just before we got to. We don’t even get to have sex in my dreams!

  3. Ha! That’s very funny.

    I love you so much that it could potentially lead to my eventual explosion. In other words, I love you so much I could pOp.

Leave a Reply

