Palm Pre: no simultaneous calling and data

I am crazy about gadgets, especially cell phones.  Living in the US, I am particularly excited about the release of the Palm Pre and I have spent a ridiculous amount of recent time following all the news and video that is coming out through various sites.  Something that I found amazingly ridiculous was that Sprint’s network is not capable of facilitating simulatneous voice calling and data transfer.  For a phone that is going to have a ton of great features, the least of which appears to be really nice multitasking between different “cards”, it seems ridiculous to me that this is something it won’t be able to do.  On my own phone, I can be on a call while at the same time checking email, browsing the web, or using any other type of app that requires an internet connection.  It just seems silly that in 2009 we are presented with a phone that isn’t able to do this due to the carrier’s limitations.  I expect that when WebOS is released on other carriers it is something it will be able to do.

Author: jayholler

A technology lover living in California with my wife and two children.

Leave a Reply

