Blacklisting hosts that try to break into my host

I have been noticing lately that a lot of poeple are trying to attack my host by logging in over ssh.  With the help of a friend I was able to concoct a script which takes those nasty IPs out of /var/log/auth.log and then banishes these IPs by using route and the reject option:

#!/bin/bash

echo -e “\n[`date`] – Scanning for new bad hosts to blacklist…”
tail -2000 /var/log/auth.log | grep ‘invalid user’ | awk ‘{print $13}’ | uniq > /tmp/badhosts.txt
route | egrep -v ‘Kernel|Destination|default’ | awk ‘{print $1}’ > /tmp/routes.txt

for i in `cat /tmp/badhosts.txt`; do
if [ -z `grep $i /tmp/routes.txt` ]; then
echo -e “\n Adding $i to blacklist” ;
route add -host $i reject ;
else echo “$i is in routing table”;
fi;
done
echo -e “Now printing routing table, make sure nothing in here looks wrong”
route
echo -e “\n”
exit 0

I have put the script in a cronjob so that it runs every fifteen minutes:

0,15,30,45 * * * * /usr/local/bin/blacklist.sh >> /tmp/blacklist.log

This all gets dumped to a log at /tmp/blacklist.log, which I then have emailed to myself each day at 8:00 AM by a cronjob:

0 8 * * * mail -s “Blacklist.log for `date +%b” “%d” “%Y`” XXXX@gmail.com < /tmp/blacklist.log

In this way, I effectively block anyone who ends up in /var/log/auth.log as an invalid user from bombarding my ssh daemon with nasty brute force attacks to get into my server.

Linux is so awesome.

Author: jayholler

A technology lover living in California with my wife and two children.

One thought on “Blacklisting hosts that try to break into my host”

  1. Great post! Make sure you blog is being submitted to Google. I bet a lot of people would find this useful.

Leave a Reply

