Band of the Day iOS app

I love music, but since I’ve started a family and been working full time (as opposed to doing mostly nothing and playing in a band years ago) its become harder and harder to discover new music. It’s hard to find the time to sit around and listen to music, and most of the time I was getting recommendations from friends that I lived with, which obviously doesn’t happen anymore. I used to use last.fm as a sort of crude music discovery tool, as they will try to play music that matches your tastes based on your listening habits. That mostly never really worked for me as it was rare that I actually heard a band that I wanted to listen to repeatedly.
Today however I was introduced to a new iOS app called Band of the Day, and I loved it instantly! Each day a band is highlighted and you can read a review, check their bio, see messages from other users of the app, and stream whole songs from recent releases. You can also purchase songs or albums directly through the iTunes store. In a word, for me, it’s perfect. I have a train commute to work each day and now I have a super simple, beautiful music discovery app to help me find new bands. I’m going back now to browse trough past Bands of the Day!

Author: jayholler

A technology lover living in California with my wife and two children.

2 thoughts on “Band of the Day iOS app”

  1. Hi Jay,

    I’m half of the editorial side of the Band of the Day team, and just came across this blog. Just wanted to say that the rest of the team members in the office & I were all very touched by this blog post! It’s exactly what we set out to do with this app, and it’s great to see that our users are responding so positively!

    P.S. If you get a chance, we’d love it if you could leave us a review of the app in the AppStore, as it helps us a lot! Hope you continue to enjoy the bands day after day, and spread the word πŸ™‚

  2. Amanda,

    Absolutely! It’s the least I can do, this app provides a lot of value for me, I wouldn’t even mind paying for it, I’ve paid for apps with much less value than this! I’ll post something in the next few days after I get a better feel for it.

Leave a Reply

