Camping in Santa Cruz

When I start any new endeavor I tend to let my imagination run wild and then I always end up disappointed because reality does not ever measure up to the limits of my imagination. I feared that when I accepted my current job at Twitter that the whole experience could never be as good as I imagined because of this. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that Twitter and California completely blew away my expectations!!

First of all, the position I have is new, and it’s a great challenge as well as a satisfying feeling to be building our team from the ground up and contributing to that process. Second, the perks here are well beyond what I imagined it would really be like. A while ago I interviewed for a financial firm in Santa Monica, and they tried to show off all the perks they had for their employees, but I got the distinct feeling that they were putting on a show specifically because there was a potential new hire in the office that day. At Twitter, it really is just amazing all the things they do to take good care of their employees and keep everyone happy. They provide three square meals a day, freshly prepared and cooked on site, as well as an arsenal of snacks, beverages, and all kinds of other perks I won’t even go into because it would just take too much time.

Probably the greatest perk of all though is the fact that they understand the value of having a good work/life balance. My shift covers 12 hours a day, for 3 or 4 day weeks. The rest of the time is mine to do with as I please. This means I see my family more often, and we have more time to do awesome stuff that we couldn’t have done before. In addition, we’re living in beautiful California, where it hasn’t rained for like 3 months.

Taking advantage of this, last week we took off on a one day camping trip to Santa Cruz. When we left home, it was about 92 degrees out. When we reached Route 1 outside Santa Cruz I took my phone out to check the temperature. Turns out it was only 65 degrees there!! We turned off the air conditioning and opened all the windows to enjoy the cool, crisp, Pacific air. We got to the campsite not long after that, and once we had set up our tent and settled in, we took a drive down to the closest beach to see the ocean.

Image

The beach featured a dramatic drop from the parking lot to the sand, and it happened to be an overcast, foggy kind of day there, but we enjoyed running around for a few minutes before we went back to the car.

Image

Image

The climb up the stairs was rough!

Image

Once we got back to the campsite, the girls took advantage of the banana bike rentals and bouncy beach thing:

Image

Image

While Anna and I sat with the dogs and enjoyed a few relaxing moments together:

Image

Then Anna cooked up some burgers and hot dogs!!

Image

Afterwards I took the girls to the pool while Anna tended to the campfire:

Image

and finally we ended the day by roasting marshmallows and enjoying each other’s company!

Image

The whole family had an amazing time, and we wouldn’t have been able to do it without Twitter! I am forever grateful for all the ways in which this company has helped us to improve our lives!

Author: jayholler

A technology lover living in California with my wife and two children.

One thought on “Camping in Santa Cruz”

  1. What a nice post Jay.

    I can’t believe that you wrote it on your birthday and didn’t even mention it.

    I miss you and I love you.

    Your wife- from miles away.

Leave a Reply

